The present parish church dates from 1464, although containing some Norman stonework. These may have come from an earlier chapel, perhaps one serving Bailiffgate residents. Like the Castle, the church was ‘gothicised’ in the late eighteenth century, and there is an old painting showing some spectacular details. Restoration in 1863 removed all traces of these alterations. Today we have a largely symmetrical church but with a tower which is over the end of the south aisle. Inside the first impression is of its width which extends throughout the whole church. The chancel contains some fine fifteenth century carving and there is also a fascinating collection of Victorian stained glass from a variety of designers.
To explore further, go to the Inspired Alnwick website.